Philip N. Bartlett received his BA (Hons) in 1978 from the University of Oxford and his PhD in photoelectrochemistry 1981 from Imperial College, University of London in the group of W. J. Albery FRS. He was a Royal Society for the Exhibition of 1851 Fellow at Imperial College from 1981 to 1983 and moved in 1984 to become a Lecturer in Physical Chemistry at the University of Warwick. He moved from Warwick in 1991 to become Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Bath and then in 1992 to the University of Southampton as Professor of Electrochemistry where he is currently the Head of the Electrochemistry Section.

His research interests focus on the templated electrodeposition of nanostructured materials and on bioelectrochemistry. He is the author or co-author of over 280 refereed journal publications and author with J. W. Gardner of "Electronic Noses, Principles and Applications" (1999), editor of the English translation of "Semiconductor Photoelectrochemistry" by Pleskov and Gurevich (1986) and editor of "Bioelectrochemistry. Fundamentals and Applications" (2008).

Professor Bartlett has won a number of awards for his research including the 1992 Tajima Prize from the ISE, 1994 Armstrong Lectureship of the Society of Chemical Industry, 2003 Geoffrey Barker Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2005 Electrodeposition Division Award from the Electrochemical Society, 2007 Carl Wagner Medal from the Electrochemical Society, 2007 Katsumi Niki Prize from the ISE, 2008 Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal of the ISE and 2009 Royal Society of Chemistry Tilden Lectureship. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and was elected as a Fellow of the ISE in 2006 and as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2012.

Professor Bartlett is a past Vice-President of the ISE and past Member of the ISE Scientific Meetings Committee. He is currently a Council Member of the Bioelectrochemical Society and serves on the international editorial advisory boards of Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, Bioelectrochemistry, ChemElectrochem and the Journal of Electrochemistry. He will be Chair of the Gordon Conference in Electrochemistry in 2016.