

2010).

Sharon G. Roscoe

<u>Current Positions:</u> Lifetime Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada; Adjunct Professor: Department of Chemistry, University of Guelph, Ontario; Adjunct Professor: School of Biomedical Engineering, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS.

Education: Ph.D. (Physical Chemistry) from McGill University, Montreal, Canada.

Sabbaticals: University of Ottawa with Prof. Brian Conway, 1983; University of Guelph with

Prof. Jacek Lipkowski, 1996; York University with Prof. Sylvie Morin, 2003.

<u>Major Awards:</u> 2001 Clara Benson Award from the Canadian Society of Chemistry, awarded to a woman who has made a distinguished contribution to chemistry while working in Canada.

2006 The Electrochemistry Society Canadian Section R.C. Jacobsen Award in recognition of administrative and scientific contributions to the Canadian Electrochemistry Community.

<u>Recognition:</u> Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Chemistry, 2001; Finalist in "Professional of Distinction" Discovery Awards for Science and Technology, Discovery Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 2002, 2003, 2005; Member of NSERC Discovery Grant Committee for Physical and Analytical Chemistry 2009-2011; Member of the Evaluation Panel for the ProEnviro program of Swedish Foundation for Strategic Environmental Research (Mistra) 2010; Co-chair of the NSERC Strategic Grant Selection Committee for the Biosiences, 2003-05; Member of External Reviewer Committee for grant applications to the Swedish Research Council for Natural and Engineering Sciences for Biomedical Engineering 2005; Reviewer for the EMBARK Initiative (Irish Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship Scheme (Chem)), operated by the Irish Research Council for Science, Engineering and Technology (IRCSET) 2005.

ISE Activities: Secretary General of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) for the terms 2005-07 and 2008-10. This includes overseeing the governance of the Society, and in particular in 2006 the change of the conference organization from the host countries to the ISE Society, which entails writing Guidelines, negotiating venue contracts and overseeing the logistical aspects of the conferences including those beyond 2010; Chairperson of Analytical Electrochemistry Division of ISE 2001-2004: National Secretary for Canada for ISE 1998-2000, 2001-2003; Co-chair of the 58th Annual Meeting of ISE Banff, Canada, 2007; Member of the Organizing Committees for the ISE Annual Meetings in Seville, Nice, Niigata, Prague; Member of the Advisory Boards, International Conference on Electrified Interfaces, in Spa, Belgium, 2004 and in Geneva, New York, USA, 2010 (ISE sponsored); Member of the Scientific Committee of the International Conference on Electrode Processes held in Szczyrk, Poland in 2004 (ISE sponsored); Member of the Scientific Committee of the joint BES/ISE Bioelectrochemistry Meeting held in Coimbra, Portugal, 2005; Co-chair of the International Conference on Electrified Interfaces, Wolfville, NS, 2001; Member of the Award Committee for the 2003 Oronzio De Nora Foundation Young Author Prize of the ISE;. Other Professional Activities (selection): Councilor (2001-2002), Chairperson (1999-2000), Vice Chairperson (1997-99), Secretary (1996), Member-at-large (1993-96), and Member of Awards Committee (1996-99) for the Canadian Section of The Electrochemical Society; Co-organizer of Canadian Section ECS Symposiums (2009) Halifax, NS and (2005) Wolfville, NS; Member of the International Program Committee for the International Association of Science and Technology for Development Conferences on Biomedical Engineering, Innsbruck, Austria (yearly, 2003-

<u>Research Activities:</u> Research focuses on the development of electroanalytical techniques to examine protein interfacial and conformational behaviour at metal electrode surfaces, using also EQCN, PM-IRRAS, STM and AFM to gain an understanding of the structure-function behaviour of proteins. Her research has been recognized by invited conference presentations in Spain, Japan, Denmark, Austria, England, Czechoslovakia, Germany, Poland, USA, and Canada.